June Self-Love Sunday Note: With this pill…

…I thee wed. Or at the very least am entering into what feels like a commited relationship.

Dearest Readers,

It has been a long time since we spoke and I apologize for not writing sooner.

The last few months have been trying ones and I’ve recently found myself going back on antidepressants. It has been almost fifteen years since I was on any type of medication to assist with my depression.

Why has it been so long, you might ask? Had I gotten “better’?

Mostly because when I was on them before, as a teenager, the side effects from the medication felt like they far outweighed the benefits. And I had gotten to a place where I could manage my depression.

I am hoping this time things will be different. I am different. A better advocate for myself. I know myself more than I did before.

So I thought I would write a Sunday Self-Love Note to myself regarding this tiny pill.

Dear Me

(& the little green and white pill),

When doubts continue to close in, remember how far you’ve come.

You may not remember the way or the path you took to get here.

But you have done it before and can do it again.

You have a better support system now.

A better understanding of yourself.

You are the flicker of light in the darkness and no matter how much it closes in

the flame will not be extinguished.

With courage let us fan it into an inferno.

Love,

Yourself

I hope this post finds you well in whatever sense of the word you would wish it to mean.

xo

Honestly Austen

Postscript: I am always here to chat so do not hesitate to reach out!

One thought on “June Self-Love Sunday Note: With this pill…

Leave a comment