Us in August – A Self-Love Note

Dear Readers,

How have you been?

I have had a busier August than usual, having traveled (by vehicle) to see my nieces and nephew. According to Google Maps it was a 28 hour drive, but that did not figure in pit stops. And with my sister as my travel companion, there are pit stops a plenty.

It was a wonderful visit filled with berry picking, swinging, swimming, lots of giggles and board games. (I slayed at Clue or Clue-Do depending on where you are reading this from.)

The hardest thing was having to say goodbye. Not knowing when I would get to physically hug those tiny/not so tiny children again. I love them so much and it broke my heart to have to drive away.

Therefore I knew my self-love note for August would be a tender one. So here goes:

Dear Me,

You did exactly what you had set out to do.
You spent every moment with those you love.
No regrets could seep in at the edges.
You said yes to (almost) everything.
(And your knees paid for many hide-and-seeks.)
And even though it broke your heart
that you had to go,
hold onto those memories.

Someone famous once wrote:
“Parting is such sweet sorrow.”
We know this is not the end,
and that you will see them again.

Love,
Yourself

 

I hope dear readers you have a lovely Sunday filled with all the things that make you smile. 

Until next Self-Love Sunday, take care.

xo

Honestly Austen

IMG_0824

Leave a comment